There have been residents in the district since the Bronze Age, around 1800 BC. The name Cumnock is so old that historians are unable to agree on its origins. At one time, the area boasted seven castles including Cumnock Castle and Terringzean (pronounced “Tringan”), with only the latter surviving as ruins.
Terringzean dates from the early fifteenth century and can be seen when walking from Dumfries House to the town of Cumnock.
In 1509 King James IV issued a charter, creating the Burgh of Cumnock and the town has had close links with the Dumfries family since the early seventeenth century.
One of Lord Dumfries’s improvements was to build a new church in the Square, designed by John and Robert Adam, who were also architects of Dumfries House.
Industries through the years have included weaving, snuff-box manufacture, ironworks and coal-mining.
Cumnock’s history is fascinating. To find out more we advise obtaining copies of Dane Love’s books, “A Pictorial History of Cumnock” and “Ayrshire – Discovering A County”. Reference copies of both are available in the Knockroon Visitor Centre.