Built between 1754 and 1759 for the 5th Earl of Dumfries, and with a unique collection of Chippendale furniture, the House has been described as an 18th century time-capsule since the principal rooms and their contents have remained virtually unchanged for 250 years.
In June 2007, HRH The Prince of Wales, under his title as the Great Steward of Scotland, headed a consortium of charities and heritage bodies to purchase this unique house, its contents and adjoining land, in order to keep this historical jewel intact and accessible to the public.
However, the House is only the beginning. HRH The Prince Charles has also set in motion several exciting projects that will not only reinvigorate the surrounding area, but will also create a lasting and creative legacy for many years to come.
The Coach House café is open 7 days from 10am to 5pm (summer opening) or 10am to 4pm (winter opening), serving a selection of sandwiches, paninis and home baking. The newly opened Library Restaurant is located in the west wing of Dumfries House in the former billiard room. Open Thursday - Sunday evenings from 7pm and from 12pm to 3pm for Sunday Lunch, we are sure you will enjoy the fabulous food created by award winning Head Chef, Darren Blunden. Call 01290 429919 for reservations.
Hope Homes have recently designed and built the 54 bed Tamar Manoukian Outdoor Activity Centre. The main users of the facility are Youth United, a charity supported by His Royal Highness, The Duke of Rothesay, to encourage young people to develop personal and team skills through outdoor activity.
The Belling Hospitality Training Centre, again architecturally designed and built by Hope Homes, is providing young people with the opportunity to learn about the hospitality industry, principally through the Prince's Trust "Get Into" programme. It includes a cook school, training restaurant and bar.
Within the Walled Garden. Hope Homes are constructing the Peirburg Education Centre which is a new build facility providing classrooms and a meeting space. Designed by Hope Homes to be part of the garden wall itself, the company's expert craftsmen are using their skills to create something special. Salvaged sandstone, traditional bricks with lime mortar, slates and traditional case and sash timber windows work together beautifully. More details available soon.
The Sawmill has recently been converted to a Traditional and Craft Skills Centre by Hope Homes commercial arm. This is being used by The Prince's Foundation to teach traditional skills such as stonemasonry and dry stane dyking.
The recently renovated laundry building now houses four artists' studios which will be the home of an exciting new international residency opportunity for practising artists from Scotland and the USA, as well as being a venue for students of The Prince's Drawing School to experience drawing and painting around the estate.
Morrisons Farm at Dumfries House now stands on the site of a 1940's British Army camp. This 900 acre farm was set up in partnership between Dumfries House and Morrisons supermarket.
The Summer House in the walled garden was constructed as part of The Building Craft Apprentices Livebuild 2012 project. Participants in The Prince's Foundation Summer School came up with the design of the building that is now in situ and was constructed by craft apprentices, over a 2 month period, supervised and assisted by Hope Homes highly skilled tradesmen.
Why not take a walk around the estate, there are lots of exciting things to see. Further details of walks can be found here.